mental health america wabash valley region

Our Mission: Achieving better mental health in the Wabash Valley Region of North Central Indiana. 



Mental Health America - Wabash Valley Region Inc. is one of the 200+ affiliates of the Mental Health America National working to improve the mental health of all Americans, especially the 54 million people with mental disorders, through advocacy, education, research and service.

Mental Health Americas (MHAs) bring together mental health consumers, parents, advocates and service providers for collaboration and action.

MHAs provide public mental health educational programs, information and referrals, support groups, rehabilitation services, socialization and housing services to those confronting mental health challenges and their loved ones. Many affiliates also provide advocacy services for parents and children with serious emotional disturbances, mentoring relationships for adults recovering from mental illnesses, and professional education to those working in the mental health field.

Affiliates strive to influence public policy at the local, state, and national level to ensure fair and effective treatment to the millions of Americans experiencing mental health challenges.

Mental Health America - Wabash Valley Region Inc. (MHA - WVR) was founded in 1950 and is our community's largest and oldest not-for-profit organization dedicated to eradicating the stigma of mental illness and advocating for the rights of those facing mental health challenges.

Mental Health America - Wabash Valley Region Inc. provides mental health educational programs and supportive services to the following eleven counties: Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Fountain, Howard, Miami, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Warren and White Counties. In addition, MHA - WVR operates one of the National Suicide Prevention Line centers in Indiana covering 33 counties in Central and Northern Indiana.

Mental Health America - Wabash Valley Region Inc. is an affiliate of the Mental Health America National and has been a United Way Agency since 1956.

our commitment to anti-racism

Mental Health America is committed to advancing an anti-racist agenda and promoting health equity. We affirm the importance of mental health advocacy and recognize that racial injustice has caused trauma and harm to minoritized communities. We acknowledge that combatting racism and inequity is an ongoing commitment. The impact of economic, clinical, and environmental disparities, including diverse linguistic needs, may hinder the opportunity to access and receive quality and equitable mental health care and services. Thus, we remain devoted to addressing discrimination, stigma, and other social and moral determinants of health, leading by example and educating our affiliates and communities. Together, we stand united in support of racial justice and the intersection of mental health, and the well-being of humanity.

our history

Where we come from and what we've done

During the 1940s, community leaders and individuals with family members experiencing mental illness began meeting and discussing community mental health needs.

In January, 1950, Circuit Court Judge W. Lynn Parkinson, County Welfare Department Director Juliet Snyder, and Chamber of Commerce President W. G. Neibert, Jr. officially requested that a Tippecanoe County Mental Hygiene Society be formed. In February of that year the Tippecanoe County Mental Hygiene Society, today known as the Mental Health America of Tippecanoe County, was formed as an affiliate of the national and state Mental Hygiene Societies. Rabbi Einhorn served as our first President.

Since 1950, our organization has continued to expand to meet the mental health needs of our community. A few highlights include:

  • 1953 - MHA's "Christmas Gift Lift" program began, serving adults with serious mental illness. This program continues today and is now known as our "Holiday Gift Lift."
  • 1956 - The MHA became a "Partner Agency of the United Fund" in Tippecanoe County. Today, United Way of Greater Lafayette continues to support the MHA services.
  • 1981 - The William Potter family donated the Potter House and three adjacent lots to the MHA. The Potter House, constructed in 1855 and on the National Registry of Historic Places, is today used for our Supportive Housing program. Our MHA Community Building was also constructed on two of these lots.
  • 2004 - North Central Health Services granted funding to the MHA for construction of the Mental Health Association Community Building.
  • 2005 - The Joey A. Seaman Memorial Mental Health Library opened to the community.
  • 2013 - MHA became certified to provide the Mental Health First Aid USA and Youth Mental Health First Aid courses.
  • 2014 - Mental Health America of Tippecanoe County, Inc. (MHA) and the Lafayette Crisis Center Foundation (LCC) legally merged on September 2, 2014, with MHA being the lead agency. All of LCC’s programs (with the exception of 2-1-1 services) began being provided by the MHA. These programs include:
    • 24-7 Crisis Lines
    • Community Services Directory
    • Rape Survivors Advocacy Series
    • Survivors of Suicide Support Group
    • Women Who've Been There Support Group
  • 2018 - Mental Health America of Tippecanoe County, Inc. expanded services into five surrounding counties and changed names to reflect this expansion.  We are now Mental Health America - Wabash Valley Region and serve Benton, Carroll, Fountain, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties.  

Lafayette Crisis Center Foundation, Inc. History

The crisis intervention phone service began at Purdue University when a group of Counseling and Clinical Psychology graduate students recognized the need for crisis intervention and information and referral services for Purdue students. With faculty advisor Donald Hartsough, Ph.D., and other interested social workers, psychologists, and psychiatrists, the crisis intervention phone service began operation in April of 1970.  

In 2014 the Lafayette Crisis Center merged with Mental Health America - Wabash Valley Region. 

board of trustees

  • Matt Wollin
    Board President
  • Sana Booker
    Vice President
  • Holly Barker
  • Joshua Hines
  • Dr. Carrie Cadwell
  • Cathy Cavanaugh
  • Kevin Flynn
  • Peter Marks
  • William Menges
  • Rabindra Mukerjea
  • Charlie Shook
  • Renea Smith
  • Lisa Werth
  • Dagny Zupin

affiliations & links