Information, Referrals, and Advocacy

Finding the right mental health services for yourself or a loved one can sometimes be difficult. We're happy to assist you with referrals, with navigating the mental health services delivery system, and with advocating for appropriate services.

You may call us at 765-742-1800 for referrals or make an appointment for more in depth assistance.

We know that one out of four families is impacted by mental illness. During the course of any twelve month period 19% of us, or almost one in five of us, will experience a diagnosable mental health challenge. Unfortunately, many people don't seek services or cannot find the services that would most benefit them. If you want or need any help seeking mental health services, we are here to lend a hand.


The National Suicide Hotline Designation Act of 2020 designating 9-8-8 as the universal telephone number for a national suicide prevention and mental health crisis hotline became law in October of 2020. In January of 2021, Representative Davisson introduced House Bill 1468 to the Indiana legislature on how Indiana will manage oversight, coordination and designation of the crisis centers who will receive calls from the national 9-8-8 number. In addition, HB 1468 also establishes a 9-8-8 trust fund which is essential to securing a permanent source of funding.  

Mental Health America - Wabash Valley Region (MHA-WVR) and A Better Way Services, Inc (Muncie, IN) are the only two full time organizations in Indiana who currently answer calls from the National Suicide Prevention Line (NSPL), as well as local crisis lines. We are the first step in a continuum of service that must be put into place in Indiana, to allow for full care of those in crisis.


At 8:30 AM MONDAY, February 15th the Indiana House Public Health Committee will hear comments on House Bill 1468. Brandi Christiansen, President & CEO of MHA-WVR will be testifying before the committee on behalf of NSPL lines in the state of Indiana in support of HB 1468 as written.

By the end of 2022 after the 9-8-8 number is fully implemented it is projected that our Crisis Center call volume will increase by 4 times the current volume – that is approximately 25,000 callers in crisis a year. It is imperative that we are proactive and clearly establish a statewide coordinated infrastructure to prepare for this easier way to connect those in need to suicide prevention and mental health crisis.

Our Crisis Intervention Specialists are Hoosiers helping Hoosiers who understand the importance of answering that call and being there for that person in crisis. This bill is a crucial step toward ensuring that our Indiana Crisis Centers can continue to operate 24/7/365, to deliver the same quality of service and most importantly, to be that lifeline for Hoosiers experiencing the darkest time in their life.

Please show your support by emailing the Public Health committee members and tell them to VOTE YES for HB 1468. Your voice must be heard before this legislation goes before the committee at 8:30 am Monday morning.

Sample email script:

My name is <<Your Name>>, and I am from «City» or (I am reaching out on behalf of Mental Health America – Wabash Valley Region in Lafayette, IN) whose staff and volunteers are on the frontlines.

I am writing to urge you to please vote yes for HB 1468 regarding the creation of a statewide 9-8-8 Suicide Prevention & Mental Health Crisis System as well as a 9-8-8 Trust fund.

Here is why I think you should support it:

      • Suicide is currently the 3rd leading cause of death for Indiana residents ages 10-54 and the current COVID-19 pandemic has further increased the risk of suicide due to social disconnection, depression, anxiety, loss, grief, and the lack of health care access. Unfortunately, our current crisis response system does not effectively meet the needs of these Hoosiers in a cost effective, timely, and sufficient manner.
      • The National Suicide Hotline Designation Act of 2020, designating 9-8-8 as the universal telephone number for a national suicide prevention and mental health crisis hotline, became law in October of 2020. The legislation also broadens the scope of work of the existing National Suicide Prevention Lifeline (NSPL) structure to incorporate a more comprehensive coordinated approach to all mental health and substance use crises, including an expansion of services provided by the 9-8-8 hotline centers, an increased collaboration between 911 and 9-8-8 to provide more options for those in crisis, the creation of mobile crisis and crisis stabilization units, and the utilization of peers as part of the overall crisis continuum of care. The transition to 9-8-8 and expansion of our current crisis response system must occur by July of 2022. Currently we only have two full time NSPL crisis call centers and it is expected that with the transition to 9-8-8, calls will double across the nation, including Indiana, within the first year of implementation.

Thank you for your consideration of HB 1468. Your support can truly make a difference to the many Hoosiers struggling throughout the State of Indiana.


The Public Health Committee members are as follows (and you can see Rep. Davisson is the Vice Chair):

Chair: Rep. Brad Barrett (R-Richmond)
Legislative Assistant: Elias Arnett
Phone: 317-232-9643 | 1-800-382-9841

Vice Chair: Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem)
Legislative Assistant: Rachel Massey
Phone: 317-234-2993 | 1-800-382-9841

Rep. Don Lehe (R-Brookston)
Legislative Assistant: Lewis Ostermeyer
Phone: 317-232-9816 | 1-800-382-9841

Rep. Matt Lehman (R-Berne)
Legislative Assistant: Tyler Murrell
Phone: 317-234-9380 | 1-800-382-9841

Rep. Julie Olthoff (R-Crown Point)
Legislative Assistant: Andrew Alvarez
Phone: 317-232-9620 | 1-800-382-9841

Rep. Donna Schaibley (R-Carmel)
Legislative Assistant: Rachel Massey
Phone: 317-234-2993 | 1-800-382-9841

Rep. Ann Vermilion (R-Marion)
Phone: 1-800-382-9841

Rep. Denny Zent (R-Angola)
Legislative Assistant: Matthew LoPrete
Phone: 317-232-9833 | 1-800-382-9841

Rep. Cindy Ziemke (R-Batesville)
Legislative Assistant: Jake Carrico
Phone: 317-234-9139 | 1-800-382-9841

Rep. Robin Shackleford (Ranking Minority Member) (D-Indianapolis)
Legislative Assistant: RaeVen Ridgell
Phone: 317-232-9827 | 1-800-382-9842

Rep. Rita Fleming (D-Jeffersonville)
Legislative Assistant: Luis Niño
Phone: 317-234-9048 | 1-800-382-9842

Rep. Ryan Hatfield (D-Evansville)
Legislative Assistant: Kyle Donohue
Phone: 317-232-9987 | 1-800-382-9842

Rep. Gregory Porter (D-Indianapolis)
Legislative Assistant: Peter Okeafor
Phone: 317-232-9875 | 1-800-382-9842